N.T.WRONG

Official Blog of the Bishop of Durham

Biblical Scholars who Break into the Lucrative Children’s Book Market. Part 5: Gerhard Kittel

Posted by NT Wrong on June 11, 2008

When I was young, there was one book which had a special place in my heart. That was Gerhard Kittel’s Illustrated Family Bible for the Chosen People. I fondly remember when Grandad Hans, who had fled to South America after World War II, would take me on his knee and read a favourite Bible story of his (usually one from Joshua, I seem to recall).

I guess I’m not even aware of the extent to which this wonderful children’s book may have influenced me in my formative years. God bless you, Gerhard! 

See also: Today, a number of other bibliobloggers have shared the children’s books that, in part, shaped their lives. The list is available on John Hobbins’ Ancient Hebrew Poetry. Remarkably, nobody else has chosen Gerhard Kittel’s family favourite.

See the complete series:

1. Daniel B. Wallace
2. N.T. Wright
3. William Dever
4. John Van Seters, Niels Peter Lemche, Keith Whitelam, Philip Davies and Thomas Thompson
5. Gerhard Kittel

One Response to “Biblical Scholars who Break into the Lucrative Children’s Book Market. Part 5: Gerhard Kittel”

  1. John Lyons said

    Ouch!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
